2016 MRF FMSCI Indian Motorcycle Racing Championship: Rajni Krishnan wins the Premium Super Sport Indian category

Team OD Updated: August 19, 2016, 01:53 PM IST

It was quite an exciting and action packed weekend at the Madras Motor Sports Club race track in Chennai where Round Two of the 2016 MRF FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship was held. The racing was close and intense with veterans and relative newbies giving it all they got to clinch the top step on the podium.

Jagan Kumar, winner of Super Sport Indian race (August 13)

On Saturday, Jagan Kumar of Team TVS Racing won the Super Sport Indian Group 135cc to 165cc category's race after a closely fought battle. His team mate Kannan Subramanian was hot on Kumar's heels but could not manage to get ahead. Jagan made a brilliant getaway at the start of the race, ensuring he had the advantage right from C1 to the end of the race. K Y Ahamad finished the Six Lap race in third, ensuring TVS Racing grabbed all podium positions.

In the Pro-stock 165cc Class Honda Ten 10 Racing's Hari Krishnan R took top honours with teammate Raji Sethu R in second place. S Dinesh Kumar of team RACR finished third.

Amarnath Rajan (No.6), winner of Stock 165cc race (August 14)

The Super Sport 300cc-400cc Open Race was a clean sweep for team Rockstar Racing, with Ami V Poedeooijen crossing the finish line in P1.

In the Stock 165cc race, Anthony Peter won Race 1, with joseph Mathew and Piyuth Ranjan finishing second and third respectively. The 600cc to 1000cc Superbikes support race, Deepak Ravikumar emerged victorious. The day's proceedings were brought to an abrupt end as rains lashed the circuit, postponing two races to Sunday.

Rajini Krishnan, winner of Super Sport Indian 165cc race (August 14)

In the Premium Super Sport Indian class, Rajni Krishnan rode brilliantly to clinch the top step on the podium. The veteran racer displayed his class, charging through the field from P5. The race had its fare share of incidents too. The Red Flags were out on two separate occasions due to an oil spill on the track. Amarnath Rajan won the Stock 165cc race as well as the Novice class race in the Suzuki Gixxer Cup.

Harikrishna, winner of Pro Stock race (August 13)

In the Honda CBR 150 Novice Class, Anish D Shetty scored a double win. Kannan Karnan had an equally good outing in the TVS Apache 200 class, winning both Races.

Price (Ex-Delhi)
Starts Rs 1,11,871
Max Power(ps)
Max Torque(Nm)

Latest Videos

View All Videos