12th Edition of the MRF MMSC Volkswagen Polo National Racing Championship kicks-off in Chennai

Published: October 19, 2021, 01:57 PM IST

Volkswagen Motorsport India (VMI) kicked off the 12th edition of their MRF MMSC Volkswagen Polo National Racing Championship, with the first round of races being held from 24th to 26th September, 2021, at the Madras Motor Racetrack, in Chennai. 22 drivers from across India and neighbouring countries, will be competing for the 2021 one-make Championship.

After a year of Virtual Racing, the MRF MMSC Volkswagen Polo National Racing Championship was back, with two races of round 1 held at the MMRT, Chennai. The first race of round 1 was a closely fought affair, right from the start to the finish.  Bengaluru's Aditya Swaminathan remained consistent from the start of the race to the podium finish. Getting off the line with a perfect launch, Aditya made sure he was not caught by Bangladesh's Aiman Sadat in the first lap. As the race went on, Aditya had a comfortable lead, with Aiman, Anmol and Saurav fighting for the remaining 2 positions on the podium. It was a close fight, with Delhi's Anmol Singh Sahil finishing second, and Mumbai's Saurav Bandyopadhyay taking the third position. Race 1 also witnessed an early retirement, as Diana Pundole, the only female driver, crashed into the barricade in her efforts to avoid collision with Shreyas Dhimate, who had a spin in front of her. After ensuring safety of both the drivers, the race restarted, with the remaining 20 drivers competing for a top 3 finish.

Race 2 of the weekend turned out to be an action packed one, as it started with a reversed grid formation and winners of the first race were at the back of the pack, vying for the podium finish. Chennai's home favourite, Ritesh Rai started at the pole position, and seasoned driver, Pune's Pratik Sonawane at the second spot. Compensating for a lackluster performance in the first race, Pratik overtook Ritesh in the opening laps, before taking home the victory. Chennai's Ritesh Rai and Ghaziabad's Siddharth Mehdiratta finished the race in the second and third position, respectively.

Commenting on the occasion, Sirish Vissa, Head of Volkswagen Motorsport India said, "I am happy to be back on the track for our 12th edition of the MRF MMSC Volkswagen Polo National Racing Championship. The race weekend turned out to be eventful and power packed as we witnessed some exhilarating performances and I would like to congratulate, both Aditya and Pratik, winners of the race 1 and 2 of round one. Like always, eagerly looking forward to the second round of the MRF MMSC Volkswagen Polo National Racing Championship 2021."

Round 1 of the 2021 Polo National Racing Championship had drama, excitement and scintillating performances from all the drivers. Both the races had six different winners, which hots up the battle for the championship, as it heads into round 2. With a mix of experienced and rookie drivers, the championship will see a dynamic competition in the upcoming rounds. Stay tuned for round 2, which is scheduled to take place from 10-12 December, at the Madras Motor Racetrack, in Chennai.

MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Car Racing Championship Round 1 Race 1 Results:

Sr. No. Car Number Name Total Time City
1 16 Aditya Swaminathan 14:00.605 Bengaluru
2 11 Anmol Singh Sahil 14:01.650 Ghaziabad
3 01 Saurav Bandyopadhyay 14:03.285 Thane
4 20 Aiman Sadat 14:04.773 Bangladesh
5 14 Avik Anwar 14:09.660 Bangladesh
6 18 Sandeep Kumar 14:09.878 Chennai
7 12 Arya Singh 14:12.921 Kolkata
8 03 Sai Sanjay TS 14:14.729 Salem
9 22 Oshan Kothadiya 14:15.436 Pune
10 09 Sidharth Mehidratta 14:17.125 Lucknow
11 07 Pratik Sonawane 14:34.289 Pune
12 13 Ritesh Rai 12:36.556 Chennai
13 06 Yokeshwaran K 12:40.585 Coimbatore
14 23 Sahil Sanjay Shelar 12:50.696 Pune
15 21 Shreyas Dhimate 12:57.103 Pune
16 19 Adil Shah 13:02.937 Thane
17 04 Viraj Jairaj Jhala 13:04.550 Nasik
18 10 Prashanth Antil 14:11.601 Haryana
19 02 Ayush Tainwala 08:11.478 Mumbai
20 05 Ishayet Hossain 10:20.568 Bangladesh
21 15 Diana Pundole 06:26.195 Pune
22 08 Arefeen Rafi Ahmed 06:33.723 Bangladesh

MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Car Racing Championship Round 1 Race 2 Results:

Sr. No. Car Number Name Total Time City
1 07 Pratik Sonawane 19:46.949 Pune
2 13 Ritesh Rai 19:48.035 Chennai
3 09 Sidharth Mehidratta 19:48.806 Lucknow
4 18 Sandeep Kumar 19:48.990 Chennai
5 11 Anmol Singh Sahil 19:51.206 Ghaziabad
6 22 Oshan Kothadiya 19:51.888 Pune
7 14 Avik Anwar 19:52.757 Bangladesh
8 01 Saurav Bandyopadhyay 19:53.169 Thane
9 20 Aiman Sadat 19:56.502 Bangladesh
10 23 Sahil Sanjay Shelar 19:59.862 Pune
11 03 Sai Sanjay TS 20:00.654 Salem
12 12 Arya Singh 20:04.003 Kolkata
13 16 Aditya Swaminathan 20:06.685 Bengaluru
14 02 Ayush Tainwala 20:10.049 Mumbai
15 06 Yokeshwaran K 20:14.081 Coimbatore
16 05 Ishayet Hossain 20:30.565 Bangladesh
17 04 Viraj Jairaj Jhala 20:31.022 Nasik
18 19 Adil Shah 20:43.518 Thane
19 10 Prashanth Antil 20:44.160 Haryana
20 15 Diana Pundole 21:31.987 Pune
21 21 Shreyas Dhimate 22:30.760 (c) Pune
22 08 Arefeen Rafi Ahmed Not Classified Bangladesh

DISCLAIMER: This information is published as per the press release sent to us. It has not been verified or ratified by OVERDRIVE.
Price (Ex-Delhi)
Starts Rs 6.17 Lakhs
Max Power(ps)
Max Torque(Nm)
16.47 Kmpl

Latest Videos

View All Videos