World Endurance Championship 2014: Toyota wins the Six Hours of Spa

Team OD Updated: May 05, 2014, 06:56 PM IST

In the 2014 season of the World Endurance Championship, Toyota are taking the fight straight to the Audis. The win at the Six Hours of Spa makes it two wins from two races for the No. 8 car of Anthony Davidson, Nicolas Lapierre and Sebastien Buemi.  This puts them firmly in the lead in both the constructors as well as drivers' championships standings.

This time, Audi ran three cars but they stayed largely anonymous. One of the main problems for the Audis was the lack of straight-line speed. However, a quick pit-stop during the second half of the race, helped the No. 1 car of the defending champions Lucas di Grassi, Loic Duval and Tom Kristensen take second place. During qualifying, Porsche's No. 14 car took pole by more than 1.2 seconds, while the No. 8 Toyota took second and the No. 2 Audi took third.

Now, in the championship standings, Toyota have extended their lead with a total of 84 points, Porsche with 36 points and Audi has finally been able to get some points on the board with a total of 28 points.

While Alexander Wurz, Stephane Sarrazin and Kazuki Nakajima brought the second No. 7 Toyota home in third place. The No. 8 Toyota TS040 took the lead from the No. 14 Porsche 919 of Romain Dumas, Neel Jani and Marc Lieb after the first hour of hard racing while the No. 14 car finished in fourth place. The other Porsche of Mark Webber, Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley could only finish in 23rd place. The car was plagued with mechanical troubles and after 50 laps began to struggle with its pace.

Sébastien Buemi began to hunt down first place and at the next pit stops took the lead and set about building an advantage.Sebastien Buemi began to hunt down first place and at the next pit stops took the lead and set about building an advantage.

  The No.2 Audi of Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer and Benoit Treluyer and the No. 3 car of Filipe Albuquerque and Marco Bonanomi finished fifth and sixth. In the LMP1-L class, Rebellion Racing ran their new R-One cars. They were the only entrants in the class and their No. 12 car of Nicolas Prost, Mathias Beche and Nick Heidfeld managed to pull out an impressive seventh place while the No. 13 car of Dominik Kraihamer, Andrea Belicchi and Fabio Leimer retired after 21 laps due to Mechanical issues. Their car never ran during free practice or qualifying, but was cleared for the race.

Toyota driver Anthony Davidson said, "This season is the first time I have ever led a World Championship.  Sebastien did a lot of the hard work in the difficult middle part of the race so when I got in it was pretty much job done. It's great we got two cars on to the podium again". In the LMP2 class, the Morgan-Nissan of Roman Rusinov, Olivier Pla and Julien Canal extended their championship lead with a fairly easy victory with the only hiccup being a bonnet change. After Porsche's win in the LMGTE Pro class in Silverstone, the No. 51 AF Corsa Ferrari of Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander took its revenge at Spa. Ferrari also claimed the victory in the LMGTE Pro class with their No. 61 AF Corsa Ferrari of Luis Perez-Companc, Marco Cioci and Mirko Venturi placing first; ahead of the two Aston Martins.

The AF Corse Ferrari ruled from start to finish. Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander started from pole position.The no. 51 AF Corse Ferrari ruled from start to finish. Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander started from pole position.

In a couple of weeks time, all the contenders of the World Endurance Championship will be at Le mans on the 1st of June for testing two weeks before the holy grail of the series begins at the Circuit de la Sarthe -- The legendary 24 Hours of Le Mans.

2014 Six Hours of Spa: Results

Position Drivers
1 Davidson/Lapierre/Buemi
2 Kristensen/Duval/di Grassi
3 Wurz/Sarrazin/Nakajima
4 Dumas/Jani/Lieb
5 Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer
6 Albuquerque/Bonanomi
7 Prost/Heidfeld/Beche
8 Rusinov/Pla/Canal
9 Tincknell/Dolan/Gene
10 Howson/Bradley/Imperatori
11 Ladygin/Ladygin/Shaitar
12 Minassian/Zlobin/Mediani
13 Bruni/Vilander
14 Pilet/Bergmeister/Tandy
15 Rigon/Calado
16 Turner/Mucke/Senna
17 Macdowall/O'Young/Rees
18 Perez/Cioci/Venturi
19 Poulsen/Heinemeier/Stanaway
20 Dalla Lana/Lamy/Nygaard
21 Holzer/Makowiecki/Lietz
22 Ried/Bachler/Al Qubaisi
23 Webber/Hartley/Bernhard
24 Wyatt/Rugolo/Bird
25 Perrodo/Collard/Vaxiviere
26 Giammaria/Mann/Case
27 Potolicchio/Roda/Ruberti
28 Leimer/Belicchi/Kraihamer
Position Nationality
10 HKG
11 RUS
12 RUS
13 ITA
14 GER
15 ITA
16 GBR
17 GBR
18 ITA
19 GBR
20 GBR
21 GER
22 GER
23 GER
24 ITA
25 GER
26 ITA
27 USA
28 SUI
Position Car
1 Toyota TS040 Hybrid
2 Audi Sport Joest R18 e-tron
3 Toyota TS040 Hybrid
4 Porsche 919 Hybrid
5 Audi Sport Joest R18 e-tron
6 Audi Sport Joest R18 e-tron
7 Rebellion R-ONE Toyota
8 G-Drive Morgan Nissan
9 Jota Zytek Z11SN Nissan
10 KCMG Oreca 03 Nissan
11 SMP Oreca 03 Nissan
12 SMP Oreca 03 Nissan
13 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia
14 Porsche Team Manthay 911
15 AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia
16 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8
17 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8
18 AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia
19 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8
20 Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8
21 Porsche Team Manthay 911
22 Prospeed Porsche 911 GT3 RSR
23 Porsche 919 Hybrid
24 AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia
25 Prospeed Porsche 911 GT3 RSR
26 AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia
27 8 Star Ferrari F458 Italia
28 Rebellion R-ONE Toyota
Position Laps
1 171 laps
2 171 laps
3 171 laps
4 170 laps
5 170 laps
6 169 laps
7 161 laps
8 160 laps
9 160 laps
10 159 laps
11 158 laps
12 158 laps
13 152 laps
14 152 laps
15 151 laps
16 151 laps
17 150 laps
18 149 laps
19 149 laps
20 149 laps
21 148 laps
22 148 laps
23 148 laps
24 146 laps
25 145 laps
26 145 laps
27 142 laps
28 47 laps
Position Category
1 LMP1
2 LMP1
3 LMP1
4 LMP1
5 LMP1
6 LMP1
7 LMP1
8 LMP2
9 LMP2
10 LMP2
11 LMP2
12 LMP2
13 GTE Pro
14 GTE Pro
15 GTE Pro
16 GTE Pro
17 GTE Pro
18 GTE Am
19 GTE Am
20 GTE Am
21 GTE Pro
22 GTE Am
23 LMP1
24 GTE Am
25 GTE Am
26 GTE Am
27 GTE Am
28 LMP1

Price (Ex-Delhi)
Starts Rs 1.38 Crore
Max Power(ps)
Max Torque(Nm)
8 Kmpl

Latest Videos

View All Videos