INRC 2019: Champions Group announced as new promoters for national rally championship beginning 2019

Team OD Updated: December 19, 2018, 09:33 PM IST

A new promoter, the Champions Yacht Club (CYC) has been appointed as promoters for the next three seasons of the Indian National Rally Championship, starting in 2019 and ending in 2021. The outgoing promoters were Ramakrishna Race Performance Management (RRPM), who served for the last three seasons. RRPM is run by Arindam Ghosh, father of Team Mahindra Adventure driver Amittrajit Ghosh. With their tenure coming to a close, the CYC was able to step in and win the bid.

The director of the Champions Yacht Club, Vamcy Merla, is confident of lifting Indian rallying to new heights, with a goal of coming close to the standards set at international events. "Arindam Ghosh has done a fantastic job so far and we would love to collaborate with him going forward also. I want to take Indian rallying to the level where internationally also we are recognised. From here on, we're going to go flat-out in reaching our goal."

To that end, the Champions Group has stated that their plans include increasing the prize money from each event, including the driver's winnings, and also instituting a prize of Rs 2.5 lakh for the best-performing driver in the INRC-3 category. The Group also plans to institute a cash prize for the best-organised rally, to support the regional motorsport clubs that currently arrange and run rounds of the INRC. Also a supporter of women's rights, the Group hopes to increase the number of women drivers in Indian rallying, by extending full support to as many as 10 talented female drivers.

The Champions Group is responsible for setting up the largest rally team in Indian rallying history, as a part of a talent hunt, with a massive roster of 14 drivers flying the banner at Round 4 of the INRC, the Rally of Chikmagalur. We got a chance to speak to the man at the Chikmagalur rally, and you can read that story here. Team Champions will continue to support a team of 7 drivers next season, apart from other drivers who show potential but cannot take part due to financial constraints.