Home » News

Dakar 2019: Sebastien Loeb takes Stage 6 win, while Nasser Al-Attiyah leads overall

Team OD  | Updated: January 15, 2019, 12:07 AM IST

The sixth stage of Dakar 2019 saw Sebastien Loeb take his third stage win of the ongoing rally-raid in Peru. Despite this, Toyota's Nasser Al-Attiyah extended his lead at the head of the field. Al Attiyah led the stage for most of the way, however, both him and his PH Sport Peugeot rival got lost 40km from the stage finish, looking for a waypoint.

Sebastien Loeb and Daniel Elena in the Peugeot 3008 of the PH-Sport climbing a dune during stage 6 of the Dakar Rally, between Arequipa and San Juan de Marcona, Peru

Loeb lost less time, of the two of them, taking victory in the stage. It was his 13th stage win in the Dakar, which ultimately gave him second position in the overall classification in the Car category. Third in the category, is Mini buggy driver, Mr Dakar, Stephane Peterhansel.

In the motorcycle category, it was Pablo Quintanilla who won the sixth stage, also managing to wrest the overall lead away from Ricky Brabec. Over the course of the sixth stage, though, it was Quintanilla and Kevin Benavides who traded the lead in the Moto category several times. However, after the sixth waypoint, it was the Husqvarna rider who began to get ahead.

Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) of Toyota Gazoo Racing SA seen at the finish line of races during stage 6 of Rally Dakar 2019 from Arequipa to San Juan de Marcona, Peru 

Ranked second overall, behind Quintanilla is Brabec, with Toby Price ranked third.

In the truck category, it was Sergey Viazovich from MAZ who finally ended Kamaz's domination. He took victory in the truck category, ahead of Iveco's Gerard de Rooy. Despite this, Eduard Nikolaev still continues at the head of the overall standings in the Truck category, ahead of team-mate Dmitri Sotnikov.

Eduard Nikolaev (RUS) of Team KAMAZ-Master races during stage 06 of Rally Dakar 2019 from Arequipa to San Juan de Marcona, Peru 

The SxS category saw Chaleco Lopez take his second stage win of the rally, although Gerard Farres now leads the overall standings after six stages of rallying.


Find Car/Bike

footer logo

India’s largest auto media for the bike & car community for over 22 years.

Subscribe To Newsletter
submit arrow