2019 MRF FMSCI National Racing Champion: Dhruv Mohite crowned ITC champion

Tuhin Guha Published: September 15, 2019, 10:40 PM IST

Dhruv Mohite made the best of Arjun Balu's unlucky run this weekend to win the 2019 Indian Touring Car championship title. A reverse grid start mixed things up on Sunday with Balu and Mohite both having to make up places during the race.

Dhruv Mohite won the 2019 Indian Touring Car Championship

Eventually Mohite finished second behind eventual winner Arjun Narendran, and ahead of Karthik Tharani. Balu couldn't find a way past South African guest driver Daniel Rowe and finished fifth. This was enough for Mohite to close the four-point gap between them.

The final Volkswagen Ameo Cup race similarly went down to the wire. The reverse grid in the first race on Sunday again shook things up and left the championship right open until the last race.

Jeet Jhabakh, winner of the Ameo Class championship

In the first outing,  Anmol Singh Sahil finished first, followed by Jeet Jhabakh in second place and Tasmin Pepper in third. Major contenders like Saurav Bandyopadhyay and Pratik Sonawane finished lower down the order. Jhabakh carried his good form into the final race too. He finished third to take the championship. Ahead of him were Tasmin Pepper in first and Jeffery Kruger in second.

Rithvik Thomas, winner of the title in the Super Stock category 

Raghul Rangasamy took top honours in the F1600 classification, even with a fifth place finish in today's second race. He won the first race, ahead of Yash Aradhya and Sohil Shah. Nayan Chatterjee won the second race, ahead of Nirmal Umashanker and Manav Sharma. Rangasamy now wins a sponsored drive from MRF Tyres in one round of the Civic Cup Racing Championship in the United Kingdom.

Winner of Race-3 in the MRF F1600 category Raghul Rangasamy (centre), flanked by second-placed Yash Aradhya (left) and Sohil Shah

The FLGB title had already been won by Ashwin Datta on Saturday. In the lone race on Sunday, Deepak Ravikumar, Tijil Rao and Arya Singh took the first three spots respectively.

Rithvik Thomas took the title in the Super Stock saloon category by winning both races held on Sunday. Following him in second place in both races was Sudanand Daniel. Third place went to Archit Mylanda in the first race and to R Raja Shekar in the second.

Price (Ex-Delhi)
Starts Rs 5.96 Lakhs
Max Power(ps)
Max Torque(Nm)
21.66 Kmpl