2017 JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship: Anindith Reddy wins Euro JK 2017 title

Team OD Updated: November 20, 2017, 09:42 AM IST

The 20th edition of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Champioship came to an end yesterday at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) in Noida. Over 25,000 spectators were treated to the spectacle of watching some of the best racers in the country, battling it out for top honours.

Hyderabad's Anindith Reddy won the Euro JK 2017 Championship in a stunning fashion, winning all the races over the weekend. On Saturday, Anindith, who was also the defending champion this year, was unstoppable and winning both races surely must have boosted his confidence for the race on Sunday. This was evident by his dominance in the last race. With each passing lap, he kept pulling away from Mumbai's Nayan Chatterjee and Chennai's Vishnu Prasad. At the chequered flag, Anindith was 10 seconds clear of the duo, clearly in a class of his own. "It was a fantastic season. I began the first round slowly and it became really exciting by the second. This weekend has been amazing and I am glad to win the title once again." Anindith managed to score 136 points in all, a sizeable lead in championship.

The talented Vishnu Prasad had a dismal season, but he managed to finish the championship in second with 109 points in the kitty.

The Formula LGB4 category also witnessed some intense racing. Dark Don Racing's Sandeep Kumar took top honours on Sunday, beating Diljith TS and Vishnu Prasad. The Formula LGB4 championship, however, was sealed by Chittesh Mandody, who at 73 points was clear of Sandeep Kumar, going into the last race. Mandody had a terrible race and failed to cross the line but the points gap was enough to seal the championship.

In the two wheelers category, Chennai lad Joseph Mathew was crowned the champion in the Suzuki Gixxer Cup, as his strong performance throughout the season, and a large points overhaul saw him clinch the title. Mathew finished the second race of the weekend in fourth place, taking his total tally of points to 64. Ahmedabad's Sachin Chaudhary and Aizawl's Malsawmdawnglia Na grabbed the second and third places in the championship.

In the Asian Cup Road Racing Champonship, India's Sai Rahil Pillarishetty won both races. Miu Nakahara and Mei Sakurai finished second and third respectively.

The JK Superbike 600cc races were pretty intense and in the end Vijay Singh from Jaipur emerged victorious. The Rajputana Customs chief was promoted up the order from second place after Race One winner, Gurvinder Singh was penalised for a technical infringement.

Simranjeet Singh was the top rider in the JK Superbike 1000cc class. He was in his element, aboard his Yamaha R1, winning both the races to secure the title.

Speaking at the conclusion of the 20th JK Tyre National Racing Championship, Sanjay Sharma, JK Motorsport president said that the grand finale lived up to expectations.

Price (Ex-Delhi)
Starts Rs 1,11,871
Max Power(ps)
Max Torque(Nm)